AIgamer
Sign in
๐Ÿ Home๐Ÿ“ฐNews๐ŸงฐResources๐ŸŽฎGames๐Ÿ“˜Guides๐Ÿ†GOTW
Get the weekly emailSign in
AIgamer
๐Ÿ Home๐Ÿ“ฐNews๐ŸงฐResources๐ŸŽฎGames๐Ÿ“˜Guides๐Ÿ†GOTW
New storiesTopicsSubmit your gameHow we report
Get the weekly email

๐Ÿ†Leading this week

WK 44

Mowtopia

See the game

โœ‰๏ธWeekly email

The week's top stories and the AI Game of the Week, every Friday. Free.

๐Ÿ”ฅMost read this week

  1. 01Open-source tool trompe paints a gray game blockout into a textured level
  2. 02BlueprintsLab says Ultimate Engine CoPilot V2 gives Unreal agents 1,655 editor tools
  3. 03Google DeepMind unveils Genie 4 with native audio and 2-minute consistent worlds
  4. 04anymove extracts game-ready creature animation from a single AI-generated video
  5. 05Hi3D releases v1.0 open weights to refine rough meshes into high-res geometry

๐Ÿ“˜Guides

  • How to run a Gauntlet Loop
  • How to let coding agents drive Unreal, Godot and Minecraft with MCP
  • How to turn an AI picture into a rigged 3D game asset in 5 steps
  • Blockout first, art last
  • How to teach coding agents Roblox Studio, Unreal and game servers with skill packs
All guides โ†’
AIGamer: the front page for people making games with AI.
New storiesAI toolsTopicsGuidesAI Game of the WeekSubmit your gameEditorial standardsPrivacy

Home โ€บ Guides

Guide

AI game engines in 2026: what's real, from Unity AI and Unreal MCP to Genie 4

The term covers 2 different things: AI tools inside Unity, Unreal, Godot and Roblox Studio, and world models that draw playable frames. Only the first can be used to ship a game today.

By AIGamer Staff ยท Last checked 29 October 2026 ยท 11 min read

Updated 29 October 2026: An earlier version gave Ultimate Engine CoPilot V2's press-release figures (UE 5.7โ€“5.8, Studio $60 a month, a license of about $200). It now uses BlueprintsLab's current pricing page and docs: UE 5.5โ€“5.8 on Windows, macOS and Linux, Studio $80 a month and $284.99 per seat.

Key points

  • If you want to ship a game this year, pick a regular engine and connect an AI agent to it through its plugin or MCP server.
  • Treat world models like Genie 4, Rho-1 and Muse as prototyping and research tools: none produces code or assets you can export and ship.
  • Budget for AI usage separately: Unity meters its tools in monthly credits, while with Unreal's MCP plugin, Godot and most third-party plugins you pay your model provider.

In this guide

  1. Two meanings of "AI game engine"
  2. Established engines with AI
  3. Generative world models
  4. AI-native engines and frameworks
  5. How to choose
  6. FAQ

An "AI game engine" can mean two different things. Most often it means a regular engine, such as Unity, Unreal, Godot or Roblox Studio, with an AI assistant built in or an AI coding agent plugged in. Less often it means a generative "world model", such as Google DeepMind's Genie 4, that draws each frame of a playable world as you move through it. As of October 2026, only the first kind can be used to build and ship a game. The second kind is still research previews and experimental apps, for the reasons covered below.

AIGamer hasn't tested the tools in this guide. Specs, prices and claims come from each company's own pages and the reporting credited in each section.

Two meanings of "AI game engine"

AI in a regular engine. The engine still stores your scenes, runs physics and scripts, and builds your game. The AI writes code, builds scenes, generates assets or runs tests in the editor, and what it makes is ordinary engine content you can edit and keep under version control.

World models. There's no engine underneath. A neural network takes your inputs (keys, mouse, text) and predicts the next video frame. There's nothing to export, and the world lasts only as long as the model keeps it consistent.

Established engines with AI

Unity

Unity's AI tools (the Assistant and a set of asset generators) run inside the Unity Editor and are paid for in Unity Credits. As of October 2026, Unity's plans page lists a monthly allowance of 1,000 credits for Personal, 2,000 for Pro and 3,000 for Enterprise. Personal users can try the AI tools free for 14 days; Unity's AI page says the trial then becomes a $10-a-month subscription. Pro is listed at $210 a month on monthly billing, or from $2,310 a year.

Unity's credits documentation gives example costs: an Assistant message can use anywhere from about 4 to more than 1,500 credits, depending on how complex the request is and which model tier you pick (Unity Lite, Unity Default or Unity Ultra). Generating a 3D model uses about 8 to 13 credits. Unused credits don't roll over, AI features pause when a balance hits zero, and Unity says it can change rates at any time without notice.

Separately, Unity has an official plugin for outside coding agents. Its documentation lists Claude Code, Codex and Grok, and says the plugin needs Unity 6.0 or later. In a September 9, 2026, blog post, Unity developer Christopher Addison said the Claude Code version installs 29 skills, one of which, unity-cli, can drive a live Editor from the terminal: creating and changing GameObjects, editing scenes and assets, and running C#. PocketGamer.biz reported on October 5 that Unity had brought the same plugin to Grok Build (our story). The plugin's documentation doesn't say whether using it consumes Unity Credits.

Unreal Engine

Epic has two kinds of AI support in Unreal. Since Unreal Engine 5.7 (November 12, 2025), the editor has included an AI Assistant in a slide-out panel that, according to Epic's release post, answers questions, writes C++ code and gives step-by-step help. Unreal Engine 5.8, released on June 17, 2026, added an MCP plugin. MCP (Model Context Protocol) is an open standard that lets an AI agent call an application's tools. Epic's release notes list it as "MCP Server (Experimental)" and say it lets AI agents connect to the editor, understand the engine and the project, and help build assets or systems.

Engadget reported that the plugin can reach Blueprints, assets, levels, materials, meshes and other core systems, and that Epic wants MCP to be an integral part of Unreal Engine 6, which it aims to release in early access in late 2027. With the MCP plugin you bring your own model, so the cost is whatever that model's provider charges. We couldn't find a price for the AI Assistant in Epic's release post.

Third-party plugins go further. BlueprintsLab's Ultimate Engine CoPilot V2 claims 1,655 editor tools across 37 extensions for Unreal Engine 5.5 to 5.8 on Windows, macOS and Linux, according to its docs, and works with Claude Code, Codex, GitHub Copilot, Gemini CLI or local models through Ollama and LM Studio. As of October 29, 2026, its pricing page lists $25 a month (Indie), $80 a month (Studio), or $284.99 per seat as a one-time license (our story). The same release names Aura, Ludus AI, NeoStack and Epic's own MCP integration as competitors.

Godot

Godot has no AI built in, so everything here comes from community plugins. A popular example is Coding-Solo's godot-mcp (MIT license, about 6,400 GitHub stars when we checked on October 29, 2026). Its README says it lets agents such as Claude Code, Cline and Cursor launch the editor, run projects in debug mode, read debug output and create scenes and nodes. It isn't an official Godot project.

The Godot Foundation has also tightened its own rules. In a June 30, 2026, post, it said all code sent to the engine must be written by people, that AI may help only with small tasks such as code completion, and that autonomous agents and vibe coding lead to a ban from its GitHub repository; anyone who uses AI to write code must disclose it. PocketGamer.biz reported the change on July 2. The policy covers contributions to the engine itself, not games made with Godot.

Roblox Studio

Roblox builds its Assistant into Studio. In an April 15, 2026, post, Roblox engineering SVP Nick Tornow said Assistant can now turn a prompt into a plan you can review and edit before anything changes, add textured meshes to a game, and run a Playtesting Agent (in beta) that plays the game as an automated tester and checks it against the plan. Studio also has a built-in MCP server, and Roblox names Claude, Cursor and Codex as outside tools that can use it. Roblox said 44% of its top 1,000 creators used Assistant or third-party AI tools through MCP between March 6 and April 7, 2026. Roblox's Assistant guide doesn't state a price, though it caps procedural model generation at 50 models in a rolling 24 hours.

The OpenGameEval benchmark, which runs agents inside Roblox Studio, found the best of 13 models solved 51.7% of 84 tasks on a single attempt, and runs that inspected the relevant objects before editing passed more often (our story).

Comparison: AI in established engines (as of October 2026)

EngineBuilt-in AIOutside agentsWhat AI costsStatus
UnityAssistant and generators, metered in Unity CreditsOfficial plugin for Claude Code, Codex and Grok (Unity 6.0+)Plans page lists 1,000 credits/month on Personal (14-day free trial, then $10/month), 2,000 on Pro, 3,000 on EnterpriseShipping
Unreal EngineAI Assistant (since 5.7) for questions and C++ codeExperimental MCP plugin in 5.8; paid plugins like Ultimate Engine CoPilot V2MCP: you pay your model provider; CoPilot V2 from $25/monthMCP plugin is experimental
GodotNoneCommunity MCP servers such as godot-mcpYou pay your model providerCommunity-maintained
Roblox StudioAssistant (planning, mesh generation, Playtesting Agent in beta)Built-in MCP server (Claude, Cursor, Codex named)Not stated in Roblox's guideShipping; some parts in beta

Generative world models

World models are trained on large amounts of video and gameplay and predict each next frame from your input. Each one below is limited in resolution, length or access.

  • Google DeepMind Genie 4 (October 27, 2026) generates audio, including music, ambient sound and dialogue, alongside the world, and lets you change the world with text while it runs (our story). DeepMind's post says only that it stays coherent "over short sessions." TechCrunch reported that it holds a consistent scene for up to 2 minutes, double its predecessor's limit; DeepMind's own Genie 3 post had claimed "a few minutes." DeepMind doesn't give a resolution or frame rate for Genie 4; Genie 3 ran at 720p and 24 frames per second. Genie 4 is a research preview for trusted testers, and DeepMind says it is coming soon to Google AI Ultra subscribers in Project Genie and to early-access partners on the Gemini API and Google AI Studio. Project Genie, a Genie 3-powered web app, launched on January 29, 2026, for US Ultra subscribers aged 18 and over, with generations capped at 60 seconds at launch. On May 19, 2026, Google said it was rolling Project Genie out to eligible Ultra subscribers on the $200 plan worldwide.
  • Reka Rho-1 is a 19-billion-parameter model that Reka presents as, among other things, a steerable real-time world model. Reka says the base model generates video at 0.79 times real time (median) and that rollouts are currently capped at 672ร—384. It also says long rollouts break down in structure before they look worse: a 30-second stream can keep realistic textures while the room layout stops making sense. It's a research preview with no public API.
  • Microsoft Muse (WHAM), published in Nature in February 2025, was trained on more than 7 years of gameplay from Ninja Theory's Bleeding Edge. It outputs 300ร—180 frames, and Microsoft's example sequences stay consistent for up to 2 minutes. Microsoft released the weights, sample data and a demonstrator app on Azure AI Foundry, and pitches it for gameplay ideation.
  • Decart Oasis (October 2024, with Etched) generated a Minecraft-like world at 20 frames per second. A 500-million-parameter version can be downloaded and run locally. Its authors note limited memory over long horizons and blurry detail in the distance. Decart's newer Oasis 3 (June 2026) is aimed at robotics, starting with self-driving cars, rather than games. It runs at 512ร—768 and 22 frames per second and is available through an API.
  • Dynamics Lab Mirage 2 (August 2025) builds a world from an image and a text prompt, and launched with a public browser demo. GIGAZINE, a Japanese tech site, reported about 200 ms latency and more than 10 minutes of continuous generation, and said the developers acknowledged poor response to character controls. The Decoder reported that it still struggles with precise controls and visual stability. When we checked on October 29, 2026, dynamicslab.ai showed a domain-parking page and the demo address didn't load, so we couldn't confirm Mirage 2 is still available.
  • Tencent Hunyuan-GameCraft was trained on more than 1 million gameplay recordings from over 100 AAA games, and turns keyboard and mouse input into gameplay video. Its inference code and weights have been public since August 14, 2025; the README says 24GB of GPU memory is the minimum but "very slow," and recommends 80GB. AMD's ROCm blog, which ran it on four MI300X GPUs, describes it generating video from a single image and user actions, "although not in real-time."

Why world models can't replace an engine yet

  • Nothing to export. They produce frames, not code, levels or assets, so there's nothing to edit, version or ship.
  • Short memory. Genie 4 holds about 2 minutes, according to TechCrunch. Reka and Decart both describe drift over longer runs.
  • Low resolution. Muse runs at 300ร—180 and Rho-1 at up to 672ร—384, well below what players expect from a modern game.
  • Limited access. Genie 4 and Rho-1 are previews, and Project Genie needs a $200-a-month Ultra plan. The world models anyone can download today are older or lower-fidelity.
  • No firm game rules. DeepMind lists object permanence, complex physics and legible text among open problems for Genie 4. Without reliable rules there's no dependable win state, inventory or save file.

For now they work better as helpers next to an engine, such as repainting gray-box footage into finished-looking visuals (AnyGameRenderer).

Comparison: world models (as of October 2026)

ModelStated outputConsistencyWho can use it
Genie 4 (Google DeepMind)Not stated; native audio"Short sessions" (DeepMind); up to 2 minutes (TechCrunch)Trusted testers; "coming soon" to Project Genie and Gemini API early-access partners
Genie 3 / Project Genie720p, 24 fpsA few minutes (DeepMind); 60-second cap at Project Genie's launchGoogle AI Ultra $200-plan subscribers, 18+, rolling out worldwide since May 2026
Rho-1 (Reka)Up to 672ร—384; 0.79ร— real timeStructure drifts in long rolloutsResearch preview, no public API
Muse / WHAM (Microsoft)300ร—180Up to 2 minutes in Microsoft's examplesOpen weights on Azure AI Foundry
Oasis (Decart, Etched)20 fpsLimited long-horizon memory500M open weights
Mirage 2 (Dynamics Lab)About 200 ms latency (GIGAZINE)10+ minutes (GIGAZINE)Launched as a public browser demo; current status unconfirmed
Hunyuan-GameCraft (Tencent)Video clips, not real timeExtended with history conditioningOpen code and weights

AI-native engines and frameworks

A few projects are built around agents from the start. OpenGame, an arXiv paper last revised on September 15, 2026, describes an agent framework that builds web games end to end from a game design. It includes its own code model, GameCoder-27B, and the authors say the framework "will be fully open-sourced." Summer Engine calls itself "the AI game engine." Its website says the free desktop editor has a built-in AI with access to all of Summer's tools, that paid plans unlock its hosted AI, and that its MCP server and CLI are free and open source so outside agents such as Claude Code, Codex or Cursor get the same tools. These are the projects' own claims, and both are early.

How to choose

  • Shipping a commercial 3D game: use Unity or Unreal and connect the coding agent you already use. Check each vendor's terms before you budget.
  • Small 2D or open-source projects: Godot with a community MCP server costs nothing beyond your model usage. Expect rougher edges.
  • Roblox experiences: Assistant and Studio's MCP server are the most direct path.
  • Quick prototypes from a prompt: see our guides to AI game makers and vibe coding games.
  • Characters that talk back: see our guide to AI NPCs.
  • Exploring an idea or mood: a world model like Project Genie can give you a playable sketch, but plan to rebuild it in an engine.

FAQ

What is an AI game engine?

The term means either a regular engine with AI tools added, such as Unity AI or Unreal's MCP plugin, or a world model that generates playable frames directly, such as Genie 4. Only the first kind can be used to ship games today.

Is there an engine that makes games from text?

Not one that produces a finished game. Roblox Assistant, Unity's Assistant and agent plugins for Unreal and Godot can turn text prompts into scripts, scenes and assets inside a real project. World models like Genie 4 and Project Genie turn text into a playable scene, but it can't be exported and it doesn't last long.

Can I use Google Genie to make a game?

Not in a shippable form. Genie 4 is limited to trusted testers, and Project Genie (built on Genie 3) capped generations at 60 seconds when it launched. Neither exports code or assets.

Does Unreal Engine have an AI assistant?

Yes. Since Unreal Engine 5.7, the editor has included Epic's AI Assistant for questions and C++ code. Unreal Engine 5.8 added an experimental MCP plugin that lets outside agents such as Claude Code work in the editor, and paid plugins add more tools.

Is Unity AI free?

Only during the trial. Personal users get 14 days free, after which Unity's AI page says it becomes a $10-a-month subscription; it lists 2,000 monthly credits for Pro and 3,000 for Enterprise.

Which AI game engine is best for beginners?

Roblox Studio has the most built-in help, since Assistant comes in the box and Roblox's guide doesn't list a price for it.

Sources

Compiled by AIGamer from the sources below, which we last checked on 29 October 2026. Prices and features change; check the tool's own site before you buy.

  1. Unity: Plans & Pricing
  2. Unity: AI tools
  3. Unity: About Unity Credits
  4. Unity: About Unity's plugin
  5. Unity: Official Unity Plugin for Claude Code
  6. PocketGamer.biz: Unity brings official plugin to Grok Build in new partnership
  7. Epic Games (Unreal Engine forums): Unreal Engine 5.7 Released
  8. Epic Games: Unreal Engine 5.8 Release Notes
  9. Epic Games (Unreal Engine forums): Unreal Engine 5.8 Released
  10. Engadget: Epic Games details how it's embracing generative AI in Unreal Engine
  11. BlueprintsLab (GameDevCore): Pricing
  12. BlueprintsLab (GameDevCore): Getting started (documentation)
  13. PressReleaseCC: Ultimate Engine CoPilot V2 press release
  14. Coding-Solo: godot-mcp (GitHub)
  15. Godot Foundation: Changes to our Contribution Policies
  16. PocketGamer.biz: Godot to ban AI-generated code contributions and tighten contributor policies
  17. Roblox: Roblox Studio is going agentic
  18. Roblox Creator Hub: Assistant guide
  19. arXiv: OpenGameEval: Benchmarking Agentic Programming and Exploration in a Stateful Game Engine
  20. Google DeepMind: Genie 4: a new generation of world simulation
  21. TechCrunch: Google's Genie 4 world model adds audio, more realistic worlds and real-time steering
  22. Google DeepMind: Genie 3: a new frontier for world models
  23. Google: Project Genie: Experimenting with infinite, interactive worlds
  24. Google: Simulate real-world places with Project Genie and Street View
  25. Reka: Rho-1, collapsing the multimodal stack
  26. Microsoft Research: Introducing Muse: Our first generative AI model designed for gameplay ideation
  27. Decart and Etched: Oasis: A Universe in a Transformer
  28. Decart: Introducing Oasis 3: First Interactive World Model for Physical AI
  29. GIGAZINE: Mirage 2, an AI that can generate a mobile 3D world like a game in real time
  30. The Decoder: Mirage 2 allows users to turn sketches and photos into interactive game worlds
  31. arXiv: Hunyuan-GameCraft: High-dynamic Interactive Game Video Generation
  32. Tencent Hunyuan: Hunyuan-GameCraft-1.0 (GitHub)
  33. AMD ROCm Blogs: Exploring Gameplay Video Generation with Hunyuan-GameCraft
  34. arXiv: OpenGame: Open Agentic Coding for Games
  35. Summer Engine: Summer Engine homepage

Written in our own words; quotes are marked and credited. How we report

More guides

  • How to run a Gauntlet Loop: pair each AI builder agent with a blind criticThe method behind the 55,000-line Claude of Duty shooter: split the game into small pieces and have a fresh, blind critic judge each one against real reference screenshots, round after round.
  • How to let coding agents drive Unreal, Godot and Minecraft with MCPEpic's experimental Unreal MCP plugin and community servers for Godot and Minecraft let an agent act inside a running editor and check the result. Expect dropped tools when the editor restarts.
  • How to turn an AI picture into a rigged 3D game asset in 5 stepsPicture, mesh, refine, rig, export: how 3D AI Studio's templates, Tripo, Hi3D and anymove fit together, and where each step needs checking before the next.
  • Blockout first, art last: how to texture a playtested gray level with AIEpic's docs say to add art only once a level plays well. trompe automates that last step, but its texture is baked to the mesh, so keep the gray level for repaints.
  • How to teach coding agents Roblox Studio, Unreal and game servers with skill packsA skill is a folder of instructions and scripts that a coding agent loads only when a task needs it. Here is how packs from Scenario, Gameye and Epic work, and where they fall short.
  • AI NPCs: how they work, the tools to build them and games that use themSome AI characters, like inZOI's Smart Zois, now run small language models on the player's own GPU. How the pipeline works, which SDKs exist and what still goes wrong.
  • Best AI game makers in 2026: 9 tools comparedPrompt-to-game sites, engine assistants and coding agents, with prices as of October 2026, which ones let you take your game elsewhere, and one limit for each.
  • Vibe coding games: how to build a game by prompting an AI agentAndrej Karpathy named the method in February 2025, and a browser flight sim made it famous weeks later. Here's the workflow, the tools and their prices, and the problems to plan for.
Sign in
Sign in